Skip to content

It’s gettin’ hot in here

March 21, 2011
  • When the mythological Pheonix knew it’s life was coming to an end it would build around it a nest of twigs and set itself on fire, from which a new young Pheonix with a blank slate would emerge.
  • In one of my favorite lines from a Kills song, “The Good Ones”,  Alison Mosshart sings “once in a while, once in a while/ you got to burn down your house, keep your dreamin’ alive.”
  • To clear land of unwanted vegetation growth and invasive species, firefighters will preform a controlled burn-off.

The conclusion I have come to is that I am not going to change into the person I want to become without pushing myself to clear my life of the things I am doing that are not a part of who I want to be. Instead of trying to take what I have and mold it into something I’m dreaming of, I have decided to start again with a clearer and more concise image. There are things that I want that I was not getting out of my previous work and just as life is too short to wear a bad outfit, life is too short to waste doing something you aren’t completely happy with or that you know isn’t on your road to happiness. So right now I am taking inventory on what I want and how I am going to get it. For example, I know I want to work in the online sphere via social media, I know I want to take these connections offline and build real relationships with people, I know I want to add as much aesthetic value to my everyday life as possible and I know I want to be able to give back by planning events that aim to raise money for causes.

I have already started to dab a little into these fields in the last few weeks with the items below and I have big plans for the future.

  • I am officially starting a fashion blog project. I would link you to the sites but we had our first staff meeting last night and I don’t want to expose too much before our official launch. I CAN tell you to get ready to better know and be inspired by the faces and style of those around you. Honestly this project is something that I have always wanted to do and at this point whether I succeed or fail I can at least say I gave it a go.
  • I am helping to plan a local concert to benefit Red Cross Disaster Relief in Japan. I found the opprotunity to work with Katie Pierce (Jack in the Pocket) on this effort via Twitter and am so excited to be able to organize things that I know, like the music scene and planning event details, to be able to help such a great cause.
  • I have agreed to do some small tasks, like creating a media contact list, to help Steven Nyeste with doing volunteer PR work for the Central Ohio Chapter of the National Hemophilia Foundation for their April 7th Concert featuring Rick Springfield. The same concert last year raised over $70,000! I didn’t know much about Hemophilia going in, but learning more has made me want to help make sure this organization can continue.

So as the flames die down from the burn-off I just did I am relying on my drive, my passions and my power of positive thinking to be able to get through and come out on the other side an even more colorful Phoenix. I am also daring all of you to take the plunge if you ever feel like you aren’t getting all you want out of life. Even if you mess it all up, and I mess things up A LOT, you can always, always start over. It’s not easy and it is definitely scary because after next week I am unemployed, and a start-up blog doesn’t really promise a quick return, but as Marilyn Monroe once said…

How do you find inspiration to make tough changes in your life? Do you believe that great successes come from great failures or do you think that it is more the luck of the draw?

xoxo

alisha

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 3, 2011 13:28

    I think it’s a combination of both and an individual’s willingness and desire to succeed… I find my inspirations from my Mom~ Sometimes, I just blindly jump into it.. I know, not the smartest nor wisest move, but hey you never know what you’ll take from it. If end result is good, alright, high-five and pat myself on the shoulder. If bad, then darn it, I guess it’s a lesson learned, clean up your mess, and move on. Life is too short to be dwelling on mistakes, and though this sounds cliche, live life to the fullest on a daily basis ’cause you never know what’s gonna happen tomorrow. Just sayin’… ^__^

Leave a Reply

